Yet another stay-at-home dad blog

Posted on November 25, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Yes, I have decided to contribute my 2 cents to the growing number of bloggers who discuss their experiences as a stay-at-home dad.  I don’t want this to be a vanity blog, all about me.  I want to have a online “home” that I can use to interact with the other stay-at-home dads and rebel dads who dared to leave their jobs and care for their kids.  I really didn’t show any bravery in my journey.  Like some dads, I sort of “fell into” the job.  More on me later…

I want to give a shout and some thanks to a few of the stay-at -home dads or rebel dads who have helped me understand this role a little better:

First, Jeremy Adam Smith has this great book, “The Daddy Shift“.  He also has a cool blog.  After reading the book this fall, I got some real inspiration from other stay-at-home dads who are men among men, while being proud and human all at the same time.

Featured in Jeremy’s book is a dad named Ta-Nehisi Coates who also has a cool blog.  Ta-Nehisi is a New Yorker, watches football, plays video games and cooks for his family.  Oh yeah, and cusses like a sailor.  Did I leave anything out?  I guess I don’t aspire to all those interests.  I don’t live in NYC, watch very little football, and I don’t really cook much.  I plan to learn how to cook more.  I do play video games and try to take good care of my kids.  Having good role models or online friends, if you can it that, isn’t about enjoying all the same things.  I want to learn from folks both the same and different from me.  How can I guy do this gig in NYC?  And still be hip?  I mean, anyone who is playing Dragon Age_Origins a few weeks after it is released has got to be kinda cool and smart.

I am exploring more of the stay-at-home dad blogs.  Rebel Dad has a great long list of SAHD blogs.  I like his idea that we should call ourselves Rebel Dads.  Although people will call us what they will.  We can make a dent in that by calling ourselves something different.  Mostly, people just call me “hey you” or “thank you (time for you to go now)”.  🙂

So as to not make this too wordy for a first post, I will conclude here.  I hope to connect with other dads and families who have this new challenge (or gift or blessing) of the stay-at-home dad.

Oh yeah, and I MUST link this cool video and song which I found on Jeremy’s blog.  It really made me smile.  And yes, you can buy the song on i-tunes.  I recommend it highly for all stay-at-home daddies.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    A rebel dad's blog (a.k.a. stay-at-home dad). A wiper of noses, I cook and I clean.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Zombie Daddy

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

