After Thanksgiving Day debrief

Posted on November 27, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Well, today is the day for all the sales and lines and big box stores.  I am staying away from the crowds.  It’s hard enough to get parking places and wait in normal lines with two girls, age 4 and 2.  I don’t think we are up to the challenge of going shopping today with the rest of society.  I think I will let those folks have a little more space and time to get theirs done.  I have an abundance of time to do our shopping before Christmas.

I am thinking more about what to buy.  I have a list of some things for the girls and I am getting ideas for the rest of the family slowly.

I spent some time yesterday cleaning and serving food.  I am reading the book “Sink Reflections” by a woman who calls herself the fly-lady.  My daughter picked the book out for my wife a mother’s day or two ago.  It’s got some good ideas about clutter.  I am going to use it as an excuse to make some change (hopefully, positive change) around the house.  If I will be cooking and cleaning more as I intend, then I want to exert some control and get some efficiency going in the places where I will work.  I guess I feel as though now I am entitled to start being the boss in the kitchen, laundry room, and other places.  Others will sort of have to work with my system rather than the other way around.

I did “shine the sink” last night which is part of the book’s “baby steps”.  Hopefully I can create some helpful routines for me and the rest of the household.  I already have some routine around the feeding times and shopping times.  But the cleaning and laundry stuff is not very well scheduled and it gets neglected the most.  My wife ends up doing the stuff when it gets piled up and that’s just not right.  She has the job and I don’t.

Along with this, I am really considering putting my little worthless side business aside and in mothballs for the foreseeable future.  I think having it hanging around is like a millstone on my neck and just a constant source of reminder of something I failed at.  If I can’t be a small businessperson and a stay-at-home dad, then time to resign from the business and do a better job being a househusband.  So, when people ask what I do, I just tell them right out front, “I am a stay-at-home dad”.  That’s right, NO job, just puke and poop and tantrums and lots of special moments that will be gone forever any minute now.  So, I think doing that will be my way of “manning up” and facing whatever criticism or judgement call that people will make about me.  If that doesn’t fit into their ideas of how a man should contribute to society, then I guess they will have to judge me.

When I do share about my stay-at-home dadness, most people have been nothing but kind and complimentary (at least to my face) and I guess I shouldn’t really care in the first place.  So, here I come, stay-at-home dad-dom, I guess this is my time to claim the title without shame and without my little “side business” to show everybody that “I’ m still a working man”.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    A rebel dad's blog (a.k.a. stay-at-home dad). A wiper of noses, I cook and I clean.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Zombie Daddy

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

